Research Areas (click to open)

Solid Oxide

Fuel Cells



Zintl Clusters




Welcome to our group homepage. For more information regarding our research please select a research topic below. To contact us, please send an email to


Group News

Nature Materials has selected our group’s paper on core-shell nanoparticle catalysis as one of the 20 “landmark articles published in the journal over the past ten years”.

Congratulations Selim!

Kim Huynh accepts position as instructor for ENES107: the 2015 LSAMP Summer Bridge Program for Scientists and Engineers

Lauren Stevens wins the Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Samantha DeCarlo was accepted to teach the focused course on Low-Valent Group 13 Chemistry at the University of Tübingen

Lauren Stevens was accepted to the American Crystallographic Association's Summer Program for Chemical Crystallography

Aaron Geller wins 2014 GAANN Fellowship

Kim Huynh wins the 2014 Carl L. Rollinson Teaching Award

Aaron Geller and Kim Huynh win 2014 CTE Distinguished Graduate Student Teacher Award

Yi Yu wins 2014 Millard & Lee Alexander Fellowship in Chemistry

Congratulations to recently employed group members!

Dr. Chris Sims (National Institute of  Standards and Technology, 2014)

Dr. Yi Yu (Advanced Light Source at the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, 2014)

Dr. Chris Snyder (Los Alamos National Laboratory, 2014)

Jonathan Senn (Griffin Scientific LLC, 2014)

Sarah Gibbons (accepted to Ph.D. program at Dartmouth University)

Eichhorn Research Group